Gamescom 2022: How to Watch, Schedule, and What to Expect

Gamescom 2022 is nearly upon us and promises to, once again, be one of the biggest weeks in gaming. The show will be in-person for the first time since 2019, with 500+ companies attending the event. Like last year, Gamescom will be filled with reveals, demos, news, interviews, and so much more. It’s a lot to take in, so IGN will be there to bring you all the latest and greatest moments as they happen.

This watch guide will provide everything you need to know to watch Gamescom and IGN’s biggest events within, including when events start, a list of places you can stream them live with us, and what you can expect to see at Gamescom 2022.

Jump to:

When is Gamescom 2022?

Gamescom 2022 will take place in Cologne, Germany, and will run from August 23 through August 28. It will be held in-person at Koelnmesse and will also have online elements of course!

Gamescom 2022 Schedule

See the below full schedule for Gamescom including IGN’s live coverage throughout the event:

Tuesday, August 23

  • Opening Night Live – 11am PT/2pm ET/8pm CEST

Geoff Keighley’s Opening Night Live will once again kick off Gamescom 2022 and will feature some of the biggest and exciting announcements of the show.

  • IGN’s Opening Night Live After Show – 12:30pm PT/3:30pm ET/9:30pm CEST

IGN will have follow-ups after the show, recapping the biggest announcements with interviews, deep dives and exclusive reveals.

Wednesday, August 24

  • Gamescom Studio – 6am PT/9am ET/3pm CEST

Day 1 of IGN’s live coverage highlighting new trailers, exclusive interviews, and more!

Thursday, August 25

  • Gamescom Studio – 6am PT/9am ET/3pm CEST

Day 2 of IGN’s live coverage for even more exclusives!

  • Hellsinger Live at Gamescom – 10am PT/1pm ET/7pm CEST

Friday, August 26

  • Gamescom Studio – 6am PT/9am ET/3pm CEST

IGN’s live coverage wraps up with final interviews and more trailers ahead of the Award Show on Saturday!

  • Awesome Indies- 8:30am PT/11:30am ET/5:30pm CEST

IGN is excited to be showcasing some of the most anticipated, new indie games being shown at Gamescom!

Saturday, August 27

  • Gamescom Awards Show – 6am PT/9am ET/3pm CEST

Tune in to see the best of the best at Gamescom and find out who takes home the coveted Gamescom Award.

Sunday, August 28

  • Cosplay Competition – 6am PT/9am ET/3pm CEST

To wrap up the event on Sunday, be sure to catch some of the most unique, creative and exciting cosplay that Gamescom has to offer. (FAQs here on the cosplay contest).

How to Watch Gamescom

Here’s the full list of places you can watch the Gamescom 2022 streams:

What is Gamescom?

Gamescom is one of the world’s largest events for computer and video games and features some of the biggest announcements and reveals of the year as well.

What to Expect at Gamescom 2022

It has already been confirmed that over 500 companies have registered for Gamescom 2022, and the list includes such studios as 2K, 505 Games, AMD, Bandai Namco, HoYoverse, Humble Games, HyperX, Koch Media, Raw Fury, SEGA Europe, Team17, THQ Nordic, Thunderful, Ubisoft, Xbox, and more:

Geoff Keighley’s Opening Night Live will once again kick-off Gamescom 2022 and will be a roughly two-hour live show that will feature “game announcements, world premieres, and more on a huge stage!” Gamescom represents the entire spectrum of the gaming community. From indie to triple A, action, family, single-player or multiplayer games.

Gamescom 2021 Recap

While we have yet to learn much of anything regarding what will be in the 2022 show, Opening Night Live 2021 did include:

What are you hoping to see at Gamescom this year? Let us know in the comments.

Leave a Comment